450 S. First Street San Jose, CA 95113 • 408.885.1000 • MY ACCOUNT

Sign Up Now!

 

 

 

CONNECT WITH US   Like Downtown Yoga Shala on FacebookFollow Downtown Yoga Shala on Instagram Follow Downtown Yoga Shala on Twitter     Watch Downtown Yoga Shala on YouTube

 

Ashtanga Vinyasa


This class is taught by:

Michael Athanas

Michael, an E-RYT certified yoga instructor, has immersed himself in many styles of yoga since 2002 including Ashtanga, Bikram, and Baptiste. With a Ph.D. in Physics, Michael spent nearly a decade exploring the fundamental structure of matter at particle accelerator laboratories around the world. He finds yoga (philosophy & asana) to be the perfect complement to his stringent scientific profession – both work in tandem to increase energy and awareness. The challenging flow of Michael's classes will leave you feeling strong and centered - his approach to teaching will develop confidence, flexibility and strength.

Ashtanga Vinyasa is a vigorous vinyasa practice than draws intermediate to advanced practitioners looking for a more physically challenging pace. It highlights key concepts of the Ashtanga primary series with mindful introduction of challenging poses such as arm balances or inversions. Ashtanga Vinyasa connects movement with breath in a dynamic series of postures done with calm focused attention, for strength, flexibility and a quiet mind. Be prepared to sweat a lot as you move through Ashtanga's meditation in motion, as you engage core muscles, and work with a balanced steady breath.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Jun 27 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Jun 29 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Jul 06 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Tue Jul 11 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Jul 13 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Tue Jul 18 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Jul 20 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Tue Jul 25 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Jul 27 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Tue Aug 01 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Aug 03 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Tue Aug 08 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Aug 10 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Tue Aug 15 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Aug 17 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Tue Aug 22 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Aug 24 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Tue Aug 29 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas
  • Thu Aug 31 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm with Michael Athanas