467 S. First Street San Jose, CA 95113 • info@downtownyogashala.com • MY ACCOUNT

Sign Up Now!

 

 

 

CONNECT WITH US   Like Downtown Yoga Shala on FacebookFollow Downtown Yoga Shala on Instagram Follow Downtown Yoga Shala on Twitter     Watch Downtown Yoga Shala on YouTube

 

Yin/Yang Yoga


This class is taught by:

Misako Matsuoka

Misako Matsuoka hopes to share her belief that the practice of yoga can offer dynamic opportunities to discover the youthfulness of the body and to open the heart and mind. She strives to infuse her classes with playful challenges, attention to healthy alignment, and a deep connection to the breath. Misako completed her Yoga Teacher Training at Avalon Yoga in Palo Alto in 2005 and is currently a student of Chinese Medicine and Therapeutic Yoga. She studies Yin yoga with Paul Grilley and Restorative yoga with Judith Lasater. She immersed herself in Anusara yoga with Sianna Sherman, Samantha Shakti and Kenny Graham. She studies the Shadow Yoga style with Sharre Young. She has studied vinyasa with Janet Stone, and is profoundly thankful to Max Strom for his teachings. Through all these lineages of yoga she has created integral experience that seeks to balance the neuromuscular system of the physical body as well as the eternal nature of the spirit. Misako has degrees in Biology and Engineering, and is registered teacher with the Yoga Alliance.
Yin and Yang are complementary and interdependent forces which comprise everything in our natural world. In yoga practice the associated areas of the body that are Yang in nature are the muscles and blood. The areas of the body that are Yin in nature are the connective tissues, fascia, joints and bones. In this class we will start with a short yang yoga practice which increases the heart rate, tones the muscles and warms the body. The Yang style movements are circular in style to increase range of movement in the hips and low back. The Yang practice will be followed by Yin yoga practice. In the Yin postures the muscles are relaxed allowing the Yin tissues to receive a gentle low load stress as well as allowing the muscles to stretch deeply. The class comprised of both yin and yang allow the student to feel energized and invigorated yet calm with clarity and stillness of mind.

Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Nov 30 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Dec 07 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Dec 14 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Dec 21 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Dec 28 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Jan 04 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Jan 11 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Jan 18 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Jan 25 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Feb 01 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Feb 08 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Feb 15 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Feb 22 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Mar 01 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Mar 08 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka
  • Thu Mar 15 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Misako Matsuoka