467 S. First Street San Jose, CA 95113 • info@downtownyogashala.com • MY ACCOUNT

 

 

Sign Up Now!
 

CONNECT WITH US   Like Downtown Yoga Shala on FacebookFollow Downtown Yoga Shala on Instagram Follow Downtown Yoga Shala on Twitter     Watch Downtown Yoga Shala on YouTube

 

Partner Yoga (RSVP - 1 per couple)


This class is taught by:

Rupa Majumdar

Rupa received her 200-hr yoga Yoga Teacher Certification from Adarsh and Heleen Williams. She has also completed Rainbow Kid's Yoga Teacher Training in San Francisco, CA. Rupa has known yoga since childhood, and is currently a Principal Engineer at a Bay Area tech company and depends on her yoga practice to find her work-life balance. She also draws her inspiration from her 3-year-old son every day to find creative ways to introduce yoga to children and connect with other family members through yoga.
Partner yoga is a style of asana practice in which two people support each other in poses in a way that enhances the postures and builds trust and communication. Partner yoga can deepen a pose as well as helps build relationships as the yogis share the pose, movements, and breath.

Partner yoga poses work mainly by adding resistance. Your muscles can relax and stretch while your partner’s resistance help your limbs stay in the pose. Because of your partner’s help, you’ll be able to try new poses and find deeper expressions of familiar poses.

In the class, we will explore different asanas with our partners to deepen and expand one’s practice by adding resistance and balance. There will be a relaxation and breathing exercises at the end of the class to end on a harmonious note.

Note: All proceeds from this class are donated to a local charity. $20/couple. 


Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Aug 26 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Sep 02 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Sep 09 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Sep 16 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Sep 23 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Sep 30 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Oct 07 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Oct 14 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Oct 21 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Oct 28 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Nov 04 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Nov 11 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Nov 18 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Nov 25 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Dec 02 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar
  • Sun Dec 09 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Rupa Majumdar